#### GENERAL PURPOSES AND LICENSING COMMITTEE

Minutes of the meeting held at 8.15pm on 13<sup>th</sup> May 2015 following the annual meeting of the Council

#### Present:

Councillor Tim Stevens (Chairman)
Councillor Diane Smith (Vice-Chairman)
Councillors Teresa Ball, Kathy Bance, Nicholas Bennett JP,
Alan Collins, Mary Cooke, Ellie Harmer, Russell Mellor,
David Livett, Keith Onslow, Charles Rideout CVO QPM,
Pauline Tunnicliffe, Michael Turner and Steven Wells

#### 1 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

There were no apologies for absence.

### 2 PROPORTIONALITY

RESOLVED that seats on the Sub-Committees of the General Purposes and Licensing Committee be allocated to political groups as follows:

Sub Committee	Size of Sub- Committee	Allocation		
		Conservative	Lab	UKIP
Audit	7	6	1	0
Pensions Investment	7	5	1	1
Local Joint Committee	9	8	1	0
Industrial Relations	7	6	1	0
Rights of Way	7	6	1	0

#### 3 APPOINTMENT OF SUB-COMMITTEES

RESOLVED that the following Sub-Committees be appointed for the ensuing Municipal Year, with membership as indicated:-

# (i) AUDIT SUB-COMMITTEE

	Councillors
1	Alan Collins
2	Ian Dunn
3	Peter Fortune
4	William Huntington-
	Thresher

5	Keith Onslow
6	Neil Reddin
7	Stephen Wells

# (ii) PENSIONS INVESTMENT SUB-COMMITTEE

	Councillors
1	Teresa Ball
2	Eric Bosshard
3	Simon Fawthrop
4	David Livett
5	Russell Mellor
6	Keith Onslow
7	Richard Williams

(iii) LOCAL JOINT COMMITTEE (To include Leader or named deputy, Chairman of the Executive and Resources PDS Committee or named deputy and Chairman of the General Purposes and Licensing Committee or named deputy.)

	Councillors
1	Nicholas Bennett
2	Stephen Carr
3	Simon Fawthrop
4	Russell Mellor
5	Tom Philpott
6	Diane Smith
7	Tim Stevens
8	Michael Turner
9	Angela Wilkins
	(Other members to be
	appointed by the staff-
	side.)

**(iv) INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS SUB-COMMITTEE** (To include Leader, Deputy Leader, Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the General Purposes and Licensing Committee.)

	Councillors
1	Stephen Carr
2	David Cartwright
3	Simon Fawthrop
4	Colin Smith
5	Diane Smith
6	Tim Stevens
7	Richard Williams

# (v) RIGHTS OF WAY SUB-COMMITTEE

	Councillors
1	Vanessa Allen
2	Teresa Ball
3	Julian Benington
4	Lydia Buttinger
5	Richard Scoates
6	Michael Tickner
7	Michael Turner

## 4 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMEN AND VICE-CHAIRMEN

RESOLVED that the following Councillors be appointed as Chairmen and Vice Chairmen of the Sub-Committees of the General Purposes and Licensing Committee for the 2015/16 Municipal Year (chairmen of Appeals Sub-Committees and Licensing Sub-Committees to be appointed at each meeting.)

## (a) Audit Sub-Committee

Councillor Neil Reddin (Chairman)
Councillor Alan Collins (Vice Chairman)

## (b) Pensions Investment Sub Committee

Councillor Teresa Ball (Chairman) Councillor Keith Onslow (Vice Chairman)

# (c) Rights of Way Sub-Committee

Councillor Lydia Buttinger (Chairman) Councillor Michael Tickner (Vice-Chairman)

#### (d) Local Joint Consultative Committee

Councillor Russell Mellor (Chairman) (To be nominated by the staff-side)

### (e) Industrial Relations Sub-Committee

Councillor Stephen Carr (Chairman)
Councillor Colin Smith (Vice-Chairman)

## 5. APPOINTMENT OF APPEALS SUB-COMMITTEE

#### **RESOLVED that:**

(1) all Members of the Council, except Executive Members, be eligible for appointment to the Appeals Panel; and

(2) three Members be drawn as required, to constitute an Appeals Panel.

# 6. APPOINTMENT OF LICENSING SUB-COMMITTEE

### **RESOLVED that:**

- (1) all Members of the General Purposes and Licensing Committee be eligible for appointment to the Licensing Appeals Sub-Committee; and
- (2) three Members be drawn as required, to constitute a Licensing Sub-Committee.

The meeting finished at 8.16pm.

Chairman